Polo bike desing - considering many experimental features (or at least less traditional)

Hello everyone!
I’m looking forward to building a custom bike for myself. I’m still relatively new to the sport, but I play every week for the last nearly two years. I love the bike customization aspect of this sport. The sort of arms race let’s say. I feel like it is time to order a frame and fork. I’m considering an aluminum frame from a custom frame factory in Mielec (rumored to have been a MPC subcontractor, but anyway a much respected and cheap maker here) and a steel fork from an aspiring frame maker “ImoniaCycles”. I attach the bike geometry that I sketched up in bikecad - feel free to comment on any aspect of it! Other considerations are related to the gear:

• 50% convinced to go with a 15x100mm thru axle xt front hub (never had anything with thru axle)
  • rotor size - i hear that 180mm is not really worth it
  • freewheel or freehub-body rear hub? This dictates spacing in the rear of the bike. I keep braking shimano HG freehubs, so I am considering a screw on freewheel. This however would require a 120mm or 130mm spacing (sturmey archer). The 135mm mtb standard would offer a wider range of hubs to choose from, but I do not want to go absolutely bananas on the boutique brand hubs if they don’t really offer much benefit to a screw-on freewheel.
  • fork features - i feel like it could be useful to run the brake line internally as I keep getting it caught on bikes and people. I really like the framebuilder and would like to order the fork from him. The price is a bit lower than MPC.
  • Toe overlap - is it even possible to avoid it? I run my cleats way back for comfort, which makes my toe 113mm ahead of the pedal axle. I feel like I should only resort to moving the cleats as a final solution.

Cheers!

Screenshot 2023-12-05 235535

Thru axle is such a better axle type for disc brakes! I can’t recommend enough.

3 Likes