What size is your "travel" sprocket when riding distances on your polo bike?

I intend to do a good deal of traveling on my polo bike when I arrive in Europe leading up to Perpignan, moving around cities etc. and I anticipate some long stretches that I’d rather not wear my knees out spinning through on polo gearing.

I am curious as to what your choices are for your second or off-court sprocket sizes for riding longer distances when you’re traveling.

My current set up is as follows:

• Chainring: 32t
  • Court Sprocket: 19t
  • Ratio: 1.68 (approx.)
  • Inches: 44 (approx.)

(calculated using old faithful and I’m no gearing expert so these values may have a slight margin of error)

Cheers x

@Zita @Nathalie did quite a bit of polobike touring with some funky setups (3speed triple chainring for example)

Depends a lot on your rear hub id say. I would personally put a track dropout clamped mech hanger & rear mech; second chain and even swap the chainring and go something like 38 front, 11-15-19-23-28??? On my ss freehub body.
The parts I have apart from the hanger and its like one hour of work for a loooot more comfort.
With a threaded freewheel I might go crazy and do the 3 chainring hack and possibly second freewheel

Sure I hear you.

I’m using a Hope Pro 4 Trials hub that has enough room for a second sprocket (maybe even a third?).

A friend of mine suggested a neat little trick, using two quicklinks in your chain so that when you want to switch to the smaller sprocket, you can simply disconnect the length necessary from your chain to suit. Haven’t tried it yet but it seems like the fastest and most practical.

Were they taking off their polo chain ring and putting the triple on for touring around? I suppose the hour of work is worth the benefit.

Dont really know you would have to ask @Zita but she prolly wont reply :slight_smile: